Our operation

Each DISCO is responsible for the electricity distribution activities in demarcated geographies (called ‘license area’) of Nigeria.

EKEDP covers the license area of the southern part of Lagos State and Agbara in Ogun State. For ease of operations and division of work, the license area of EKEDP is segmented into 11 districts, namely:

Empowering the quality of lives of our customers

Every District office has a Customer Care Centre (CCC), where customers can visit and interact with our Customer Relationship Officers (CROs) for addressal of their requests and complaints. To enable quicker resolution of network breakdown on low-tension (LT) network of 415 V, we have created minimum 3 Zonal Offices in each District. The Zone team looks after all the operation & maintenance matters of LT network in a safe manner.

EKEDP receives its bulk power supply from the following two Transmission sources: Akangba (330/132 KV) and Ajah (330/132 KV); and thereafter, through 10 nos. of 132/33 KV transmission stations. There are 40 Injection Substations with a total installed capacity of 1137.5MVA. This capacity and system reliability will further increase with induction of various NIPP projects in EKEDP’s high tension network (HT – 33 KV & 11 KV), expected to be completed by mid of 2015.

There are 6000+ Distribution Substations with total installed capacity of around 2500 MVA, good enough to serve a present base of around 0.4 million customers and existing load demand on our network. There are many legacy challenges, though. The switchgears, transformers, relays, underground (U/G) & overhead (O/H) network, etc. that we have inherited in November 2013, are in a dilapidated & unsafe state. It needs huge investment, and with adequate and timely allocation of Capex (capital expenditure) by our regulator (NERC), this challenge can be overcome by team EKEDP through dedication in work and improved processes, technologies and safe practices.